Something for Nothing

Technology, Entrepreneurship, Reality TV, and other passions!!

The Future of Reading – Google Book Search’s 4 Views

Posted by techie on July 13, 2006

I took a gander over to the google book search blog because I’ve been waiting for Google to really take over the book world and start offering all the books it has in its database online for free. I’m sure they’ve already done this for all of their employees. Until they finish the copyright battle I guess we’ll have to wait. I did find an interesting post on the different type of views that Google provides of books in its library.

I of course am mainly interested in the full view since I want the entire book. It wasn’t too bad and on my tablet PC I’m sure that reading this book would be fantastic. I guess I would like to get rid of some of the scrolling. However, I think there’s a bigger issue at hand. Reading a book like this online is still not as good as turning the page of a book. It just isn’t as satisfying. However, while copyright lovers out there continue to hinder Google’s progress on getting books to the masses no new technology will be developed to solve this problem. Without a large number of books available in full electronically people aren’t going to waste their time developing technology to display it in an easy to read way. That’s just life. I guess we’ll just have to keep waiting.

Leave a Reply

 
