Something for Nothing

Technology, Entrepreneurship, Reality TV, and other passions!!

OLN’s Coverage of the Tour – Why Can’t We Stream it?

Posted by techie on July 22, 2006

I’ve loved watching the Tour de France these past couple weeks. I think it has been a very exciting and interesting race. I loved when Lance just dominated all those other European riders, but it just wasn’t nearly as interesting to watch. This year was much better.

Unfortunately, on the last mountain stage I had a meeting I had to attend and so I taped it. However, when I got home I got caught up doing something and never got to see it. How mad did that make me? To add insult to injury I went out of town the next day and so I didn’t see what happened in the time trial either.

This all sucks because it’s like watching 3 1/2 quarters of a basketball or football game and then not being able to see the end. Not to mention when I go to OLN’s Tour de France website of course the results are plastered across their main page. It’s not OLN’s fault, because ESPN did the same. However, I don’t understand why they can’t hide the result and give you a warning that if you click on that link then you are going to know what happened. It pisses me off.

So, now I know Floyd Landis should win the Tour de France. That’s cool, but it would have been better to watch the action.

The real solution here would be to have on demand and streaming coverage of the Tour de France so that I could have watched it at work or anytime that I wanted to watch it. I know that OLN plays it throughout the day, but they need to expand their coverage and start streaming the stages of the tour. I’m even fine if they don’t start the streaming until after they are done playing the stage on OLN. Just give me the streaming media I want so I don’t have to be pissed and not want to watch the Tour next year.

Regardless, Congratulations Floyd. It will be very nice to see another American on the podium in France.

Leave a Reply

 
